Tags

, , ,

Crossposted at And So I Teach
 

Because I loved school so much, I used to find it difficult to deal with kids who didn’t enjoy it like I did. I’ve never really understood kids who are openly defiant in class, because I never would have dreamed of acting the way that some of my students act. Because I didn’t understand them, I used to let little things in the classroom really stress me out. I’d feel like I was stretched tighter than a drum when it came to the “small stuff”. Over time, I’ve learned to let it most of it go, and recognize that it’s not me. When I have difficulty with a student, it’s almost always the student – not because I’m a perfect teacher (we all know I’m not) but because I’ve changed my responses to kids who are difficult.

So far, this year has been pretty good. I have a lot of great kids, and I’m in a great school (plus I have windows in my classroom, so life’s pretty good on that front too). I’m so happy to be back in the classroom that I still feel like I’m in the honeymoon phase of this new stage of my life.

So while I’m enjoying work and the school and the courses I’m teaching, I’m still having difficulties with a few kids. For some of them, it’s merely getting them to see that what we do in class is valid and worth doing and knowing, and helping them to understand that what they do in my class is merely a building block for what comes next. I don’t mind those kids.

I do, however, mind the kids who actively try to fail.

I have a student who won’t do any work. He’s in Social 10-2 for the second time, and is showing no signs of getting anything done. His attendance is horrific, and his work ethic is non-existent. I’ve tried to get in touch with his parents (well, his mom, because his dad is in New Brunswick) to no avail. I’ve had numerous meetings with the student, the counselor and vice principal, and nothing has changed. I can’t imagine taking the course once, never mind twice, and I know that some of the content is not the most interesting, but it’s a graduation requirement and he has no choice in the matter.

Today he showed up, got his textbook from my desk, borrowed a pen and sat down with his book open. This is progress, however small. I left him alone because I wanted to see what he’d do, and he didn’t disappoint. Within about 5 minutes he was sound asleep and he slept through the whole class. I thought about waking him up, but I realized that the rest of the class needed the peace and quiet from him being asleep more than I needed him to be participating in today’s class (an important review session for an exam they’re writing tomorrow).

This is the text of an email I sent one of the Vice Principals at my school today.

Dear Administrator:

I know that you met with [redacted] last week and informed him that he’d have the chance to complete the credit recovery exam in the November session, but for the second class in a row, he’s asleep at his desk and has done absolutely nothing. I was hopeful there for a minute because he actually had his textbook open to one of the chapters that we’re reviewing today and a pen in his hand, but he’s again doing nothing.

We have an exam tomorrow, and I’ve given the class the opportunity to complete a notes sheet that they can use in their exam, which he obviously won’t have as he leaves his textbook in the classroom. He might pass the exam, but there’s definitely more content on this exam than last time, and he hasn’t been here for enough of the content (and also has completed nothing in this unit except for a couple research assignments) for me to be confident that he can pass the test, or demonstrate his knowledge in any meaningful way.

I don’t let him get away with not being prepared. I give him paper and pens and make sure he has a textbook. I make extra copies of handouts for when he inevitably loses his, but it all seems to be for naught, as he’s determined to be unsuccessful in this class for the second time.

At this point, it’s easier to let him sleep than it is to fight with him about getting work done, but I have a really hard time not marking him absent when he comes in and sleeps for 75 of 80 minutes.

I’m really at a loss with him, and I don’t see him taking advantage of the credit recovery opportunity if he won’t even complete a review guide for an exam.

Any advice you may have would be much appreciated.

I’m willing to give him any opportunity to succeed, because I KNOW he can. His life plan is terrible – he wants to move back to new Brunswick to live with his dad, and hasn’t yet figured out that he’d be better off here in Alberta because of our job situation here – but no one can make him see otherwise. I’m not sure if he’s just biding his time until he can leave Edmonton, but his presence in my classroom is stressful.

I am truly at a loss with this kid. I know WHY he’s so defiant, and I know why he hates school, but there’s nothing I can do for him if he won’t do anything for himself. It’s a hard thing to admit, but I don’t know if I can care anymore. It’s not that I’m not empathetic to his struggles with school (I definitely am), but I have 150 other students who need my time and attention, and I don’t know if I can give this student more.

I’m worried, though, that if I don’t, no one will.